The hour of the star- am i a sadist?

I’ll start by pointing out that I felt awful for laughing so hard while reading this book.

This book was an unusual metafiction that is possibly my favourite novel to date. The beginning of the story felt like having a conversation with the author, who occasionally experienced identity crises. It was fascinating to read her discussions since they were filled with emotion. She is excited to talk about Macabea one moment, sad and contemplating life the next, and angry at another. Her special focus on what I assume to be coca cola was entertaining.

“I’m the only one who finds her charming. Only I, her author, love her. I suffer for her.”

Said the author while breaking the 3rd wall and discussing the girl, although this “love” appeared to be somewhat twisted. She frequently degraded her and spoke negatively about her, maybe out of concern and honesty, although that did not appear to be the case at times (I think it is justified as well, because she was just a silent watcher, practically a stalker). It seemed like she was a wealthy, entitled woman who looked down but also over this girl. This was a really clever way of throwing light on the attitudes of individuals in metropolitan Brazil towards those in rural Brazil.

I found the girl to be both curious and insightful. She may not understand the meaning of words or “how to be happy,” but she seems to be trying. It may be via prayers, soldiers, rainbows, or guessing what the words meant. 

Then she meant Olimpico, who had dampened her curiosity. He mistreated her and made her feel embarrassed about her enthusiasm. Macabea fell for him because of his appearance, but his demeanour and their compatibility were lacking. He seemed to turn every conversation into an argument or about himself. 

I won’t lie, his responses to Macabea’s queries, particularly those on per capita income, were rather funny (I am an econ kid if you could not tell). He also appeared to have some odd traits, such as love for seeing women be hanged or stabbed in horror movies and a habit of attending random funerals. I’ve heard of crashing weddings, but crashing funerals is new. 

Anyway, at least they split up (despite the ‘hair in the soup’ phrase. Sorry, Macabea, but that was my favourite line.) 

Then another twisted individual showed up: the fortune teller, who talked more about herself than her client. But Carlota lifted her spirits and gave her the courage to dream for a brighter life. 

Life, well… 

The end was so unexpected that I thought I was the one hit by the car. I didn’t look up from the book the entire time the author described the scene, hoping she’d survive and be happy. She didn’t. She didn’t survive. She, “Et tu, Brute?!” (I felt horrible laughing too).

In the end, I loved this book and its (at least to me) humour. While I wait for a novel with a male character I genuinely like, this is my favourite. The author breaks the third wall by teasing her own story. I wished Macabea survived, but this conclusion seemed fulfilling to me.

I am officially a fiction reader again.

My question for this week: Do I lack sympathy and am I the only one who laughed throughout the book, or was it truly hilarious? If you did laugh, what was your favorite part?



3 responses to “The hour of the star- am i a sadist?”

  1. Sukanya, you’re not the only one who approached this book with humour! Just as a reminder, Lispector is not the narrator in the story. The narrator is another character in the novel, a male writer named Rodrigo. Do you think this changes your perspective about her degradation and negative comments? There is definitely a sense of voyeurism in the narrator like you describe. I definitely think crashing funerals is not a thing where I am from either haha.

    I’m interested to know if knowing the narrator is male and, at least to me another character, changes your final thoughts!

    Thanks for your comment!

    Tesi

    Like

  2. Hey thanks for sharing your thoughts. This book had a lot of funny moments because of the narrator’s strange thoughts and monologue. I thought it was pretty funny how she died after being promised all those good things by the fortuneteller. That was the funniest part of the book for me

    Like

  3. “I am officially a fiction reader again.”

    Ha! Yay! But see Tesi’s clarifications above…

    Like

Leave a comment